All News

Feb 05

Union Growth Helps Marshal Resources to Defend Members

ATU Local 1700 remains in belt-tightening mode, but this report by Financial Secretary-Treasurer Sesil Rubain makes clear that the new Executive Board is prepared to shoulder whatever expense is necessary to defend our members.

Jan 09

Final Officer Election Results

The Election Committee oversaw the counting of the undelivered ballots on Tuesday, January 7, 2014.  Click the headline to see the final numbers. 

Dec 30


A New Year's Message from Jimmie McCoy

Dec 19


Transit union says federal agencies; policy makers  & carriers continue to ignore driver fatigue – the chief cause of fatal accidents

Dec 19

Union seeks more than just shutdown of 52 bad bus firms

“Any serious proposal to clean up the discount bus industry must, unequivocally, address driver fatigue,” says ATU President Hanley.

Dec 15

Officer Election Update

 Uncounted ballots discovered at Post Office after tally.

Dec 03


           President                                          Executive VP                                           FST

Jimmie L. McCoy     253                          Sindy R. Vasquez        175               Sesil Rubain         292

Karen Miller                226                         Brandon C. Hall             110              Brian Sprock         184

Sandra M. Frye           195                         Dwayne L. Franklin       107             Martha T. Miller       181

James Randolph          105                         Phillip R. Russell            92             Robin J. McNeil       157

Warren Harvey               68                         Linda Cole                       87            Leonard Weaver       93

Berlon Robinson            61                         Linda Barrett (Scott)         86        

Brenda Crear                  38                         Deborah A. Campbell      77

                                                                    Jerry D. Henson               59

                                                                    Anthony Smith                 41

                                                                    Carvel Bennett                 40

                                                                    D. Ghant                           28


       Region 1 VP                                                 Region 2 VP                                        Region 3 VP

James Kennedy               51                        Sammie Howard, Jr.   123                   Herman Green      63

Michael Barksdale             41                        Ron Bender                    51                  Mr. Dana Hurt          47

Michael A. Pierce               39                        Reginald D. Smith           38                 Terry Howell            39

Michael A. Rodriguez         34                        Johnny B. Norris              32                Zachary A. Bruner    24 

Kenneth L. Roseburough   19                                                                                     Garrett Stubbs          16

 Shawn Modeste                  15                                                                                    Bobby Daniels          16

Richard W. Brown                13                                                                                 


    Region 5 VP                                              Alternate Delegate

William Wright        125                        Mario Turner                                  455  

Eddie E. Bailey           72                       Aaron A. Frost                                428

                                                               Shereta Johnson                            415

                                                               Michael T. McFarline                      392

                                                               Cheeks                                           383

                                                                Jason Signor                                 343                                     


Local 1700 Election Committee:

Elmer Taylor

Christopher Marshall

Willie Glover      





Nov 21

To Request a Ballot:

If you have not yet received your ballot you can request one and it will be sent out ASAP.  To request a ballot you must call (866)556-5190.

Oct 30

Rest in Peace

Local 1700 offers our sincere condolences to the families and friends of the following members who have passed away in 2013.

Oct 30

So Much More in San Diego

ATU delegates from across the United States and Canada met in San Diego in late August. The theme of the union’s 57th convention was “So Much More.” 

Syndicate content